Practicing data equity when working with administrative/government data?

Hi! I’m new to this space and just read through the Data Equity Framework for the first time. I’m seeing clearly how this applies to research and study design for new data collection, but am not as clear on how it applies to the kind of data work I do - which is primarily aggregating and analyzing New York City’s open government data for the (broad) purpose of “furthering housing justice.” You can see more about one of the groups I’m involved with here: https://www.housingdatanyc.org

I developed DAP Portal as a tool that aggregates many housing- and buildings-related datasets from city agencies in a way that can help community groups and tenant advocates identify displacement risk, bad landlord practices, and more.

That’s my attempt at a brief summary of my organization’s approach. I’m wondering if there are resources or discussions about this type of data work. What types of questions should I be asking myself to make sure my data practices are equitable? If not, I’d be happy to discuss with anyone doing similar work!

2 Likes

Hi! Your work is really exciting. Thanks for sharing!

I work for the City of Fort Collins on climate change issues and climate equity, and at first I also had trouble connecting all the tools to my day to day work, but as I’ve gotten more familiar with them, I see connections and opportunities everywhere :slight_smile: I think the most important piece I’ve learned from Heather is asking “who (whose worldview) is this work/project centering?” And checking to see if that aligns with the motivation and values of your project. I would look more into the motivation touchstone, data biography, and communication tools to get started.

2 Likes

Hi! Thanks for sharing your work and for being curious about how else you can use data equity practices in government.